Roads to Mussoorie

Standard

The butterfly has gone, and the sunshine beckons. It’s been a long hard winter on the hills. But the chestnut trees are coming into new leaf, and that’s good enough for me. I have never been a fast walker, or a conqueror of mountain peaks, but I can plod along for miles. And that’s what I’ve been doing all my life-plodding along, singing my song, telling my tales in my own unhurried way. I have lived life at my own gentle pace, and if as a result I have failed to get to the top of the mountain (or of anything else), it doesn’t matter, the long walk has brought its own sweet rewards; buttercups and butterflies along the way.

Ruskin Bond
Landour, March 2005

mussoorie

4 responses »

  1. Nice. Loved the header image. Did u make it?

    Willow: Thanks Reema. Ya, I only made it by combining 2-3 different images. πŸ˜€

  2. i saw all the pics but i liked the one you took on a deserted road with a grave look ( grave am not sure but it looked a little haunted)
    and please design the header for me…..the current look makes me feel sick , already the downturn of blogging has struck me ……….was thinking of shutting it down for few months (insane πŸ™‚

    Willow: That’s Parsian graveyard. Very old…burials started around the year 1809! Even a publisher friend of charles dicken is buried here. I even saw a heart shaped grave here. πŸ™‚ This place is closed for burials now. But, it is very enchanting. Lots of trees in this area and an inexplicable kind of stillness in this area of the road.

    Ok! Will send the header by end of week. The images you mailed me earlier were somehow not fitting in the header size.

    Don’t shut the blog. Let it be. You can visit to get your mind refreshed.

Leave a Reply

