The Queen of Hills, Ruskin Bond and Winter Line

Standard

Recently I visited the “Queen of Hills: Mussoorie.” It was an enchanting experience. Getting away from the maddening crowd and noise levels of the city was such a welcome break. πŸ˜€

Since it was an off-season, there was less of rush there. Long walks in the lap of mountains, warmth of winter sun, and touch of fresh breeze made the visit mesmerizing!

I am a great fan of Ruskin Bond and by chance I happen to meet the man himself. He’s a simple and down to earth man who knows the difference between living and existing. His writings are a source of inspiration and restrengthen my beliefs that we should live our lives at a pace which we are comfortable with.

I might not be a multi-millionaire with lots of money, huge mansion and a fleet of cars, but my mind is at peace and there is a sense of satisfaction and gratitude in my life. Voila! What more can I ask for. I have my share of sadness and happiness and I value both.

Guess what… I witnessed a rare winter climatic phenomenon in Mussoorie called Winter Line. This phenomenon occurs in Mussoorie and some place in Switzerland only.Β  It was such a spectacular sight and I feel so lucky to see it. Nature surprises me like anything.

Let me tell you what exactly is winter line. During sun set if the climatic conditions are favorable, you would seeΒ  rainbow colors spread on the horizon. TheΒ  colors are spread in such a parallel fashion making it so amazing. The picture as a whole is so beautiful, you have the greyish-blue sky with twinkling stars as u gaze up with beautiful rainbow colors on the horizon and millions of flickering lights of dehradun as one views down towards the valley.

Have a look at the photos though they hardly capture the actual beauty of winter line. πŸ™‚


Pic 1

091220087251

Pic 2 (taken 1 minute after pic 1)

091220087262

Pic 3 (taken 1 minute after pic 2)

091220087271

The entire drama lasted for just 15 minutes! I wish time could have stopped there.Β  I don’t know when I would be able to see this again. But, nature’s this magical drama will always remain etched in my heart.

9 responses »

  1. Simply awesome,WW.The greatest artist cant paint a better picture:)

    Willow: Yeah! It was a mesmerizing sight! It’s a source of inspiration for the greatest artists. πŸ˜›

  2. ..and brought back memories of Mussoorie from a long time back too.Thank you!!

    Willow: πŸ™‚

  3. I miss those random outings that i did with my friends to Mussoorie….i miss it… those sunsets, those tree houses still gets tears in my eyes….

    love this post….

    :mrgreen:

    Willow: Pack your bags and visit Mussoorie whenever you can. Our routine life will keep on going till eternity. Take a little effort to break it but returns are wonderful! πŸ˜€

  4. Very beautiful.
    Reminded me of a sunset I witnessed in Munnar. The sky was filled with clouds and they were taking a U turn in the sky with the sun setting behind them. Something I could never forget.

    Willow: You are such sights are unforgettable! They tend to bring you closer to nature and makes me realize what I miss by dwelling in a concrete city.

  5. i am from Mussoorie…and .i miss… 😦 …you can see the twinkling lights and this effect from my house there…its magical…. πŸ™‚

    Willow: Hey! You are from Mussoorie….lucky you! Owning a cottage in landour is my dream! πŸ˜‰

  6. These pics for winter line are certainly beautiful. πŸ™‚

    Willow: Thanks! Pics are surely beautiful but the actual sight was way beyond what pics captured. πŸ˜›

  7. Its an Author’s Paradise, Ruskin Bond’s secret i guess.. πŸ™‚

    Willow: Yeah, quite true. There is a hotel named Savoy in mussoorie. Its bar was frequented by so many writers. It’s even named as “The Writer’s Bar!”

Leave a Reply

